This site is intended for Healthcare Professionals only

Five new members appointed to GPhC council


Five new members appointed to GPhC council

The General Pharmaceutical Council (GPhC) has welcomed five new members to its council.

The new arrivals, appointed by the privy council, include English Pharmacy Board member Aamer Safdar, Ann Jacklin, Neil Buckley, Penny Hopkins, who has worked as a pharmacy technician and is currently national healthcare development executive at AAH Pharmaceuticals, and Rima Makarem.

They start their terms on April 1 and will replace Berwyn Owen, David Prince, Mary Elford, Mohammed Hussain and Samantha Quaye who completed two terms.

Arun Midha, Joanne Kember and Mark Hammond were-appointed for a second term.

“We had a very high calibre of people applying to serve on our council, and I am delighted that these five new members will be joining us,” said GPhC chair Nigel Clarke (pictured).

“I’m also looking forward to welcoming back three of our current council members for a second term. 

“We have an ambitious programme of work ahead and I am sure they will all make a significant contribution to helping us achieve our aims of assuring patient safety and improving quality in pharmacy practice.

“I’d also like to thank our outgoing council members for their hard work and dedication and I wish them all the best for the future.”



Copy Link copy link button