Nominations are open for this year’s Independent Pharmacy Awards, which will be presented at a special luncheon at the House of Commons on Friday 29th September 2017.

Now in their 10th year, the awards celebrate the hard work, innovation and achievements of individuals and teams within independent community pharmacy over the last 12 months.

There are five, free to enter, award categories to consider:

  • Pharmacy Team Learning & Development
  • Independent Pharmacy Innovation
  • Independent Pharmacist of the Year
  • Key Staff
  • Pharmacy Team of the Year

To enter all you need to do is submit a brief description of the area in which your pharmacy excels and what you have done. Don’t forget to include the category you are entering, your pharmacy name and contact details.

Shortlisted entries will be asked to provide further details of their work and how it qualifies for an award. Photographs, press cuttings and testimonials can all be used as supporting evidence.

Send your entry direct to ICP editor, Liz Jones, at

The deadline for submitting your entry/entries is Thursday 20th July 2017.

Winners will receive a £500 cheque and certificate from Independent Community Pharmacist as well two places at the September awards luncheon (with all travel costs reimbursed).

One lucky award winner will also receive two free places to Sigma's 10th Annual Conference in Borneo (10-16 February 2018), an all-expenses-paid trip, courtesy of Sigma and Independent Community Pharmacist.


Picture courtesy: Shangri-La’s 5-star Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa

The event is taking place at Shangri-La’s 5-star Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, in Kota Kinabalu (pictured above).

Sigma’s Annual Conferences are well known in the pharmacy industry and the 2018 location in Borneo will present a good opportunity for pharmacists to lock heads together over some of the pressing issues of the day. The speaker line up for the 2018 'Making it Happen' Conference is going to address the major issues driving pharmacy. Some of the conference favourites will also be attending, like Trevor Gore, David Reissner and Ian Strachan.

The 2017 awards are sponsored by:



We Recommend

Breaking new ground in Bristol

Ade Williams of Bedminster Pharmacy Bristol and winner of the Pharmacy Innovation award in the Independent Pharmacy Awar...

The significance of integration

Dr Bruce Warner praises the winners of the 2016 Independent Pharmacy Awards

Popular Features

GP Forward View gets mixed reaction

Investment in GPs could be better spent on pharmacy, say professional bodies

Quality Payments - how to claim them all

Leyla Hannbeck, chief pharmacist at the NPA, provides advice on maximising Quality Payments.

The RPS Faculty

This CPD module looks at the Royal Pharmaceutical Society's Faculty.